Some apps are manual by design. Others link by default but let you opt out. The difference matters, and most roundups don't make it. Prices and features verified from primary sources on 7 August 2026.
Last updated: 2026-08-07
If you searched for this, you probably already know why. You want a budget, and you would rather not hand your banking credentials — or a permanent read-only feed of every transaction — to a company you had not heard of last week.
That is a reasonable position, and it is not the same as being paranoid. But the apps that claim to serve it fall into two quite different groups, and lumping them together is why most lists on this subject are useless.
Both are legitimate. Only the first removes the third party entirely.
Alfie and Fudget have no bank connection feature at all. Actual Budget is local-first and open source, with optional sync you host yourself.
These all support manual entry but are built around an automatic feed:
| App | Bank linking | Aggregators | Account? | Offline | Cheapest paid |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alfie | None | None | No | Yes | Alfie Basic: free forever with 1 active manual budget. Apple Premium $3.99/mo, $39.99/yr, or $149.99 once |
| Fudget | None | None | Not stated | Not stated | $19.99/yr |
| YNAB (You Need A Budget) | Optional | Plaid, MX | Yes | Not stated | $109.00/yr |
| Goodbudget | Optional | Plaid | Yes | Not stated | $80.00/yr |
| EveryDollar | Optional | Plaid, Mastercard Connect (Finicity) | Yes | Not stated | $79.99/yr |
| Monarch Money | Optional | Plaid, Mastercard (Finicity), MX | Yes | No | $99.99/yr |
| Actual Budget | Optional | SimpleFIN Bridge, Enable Banking, Akahu, Pluggy.ai | No | Yes | Free |
| PocketGuard | Optional | Plaid, Finicity, Salt Edge, Apple Wallet | Yes | No | $74.99/yr |
"Not stated" means exactly that: we could not find a primary-source claim either way, so we are not asserting one. Prices verified from each vendor's own pricing page on 2026-08-07.
Real Mac and Windows apps alongside mobile, with sync across all of them. Its cross-platform desktop availability is a real strength for keyboard-first entry.
Simple list-based income-minus-expenses tracking. Free tier: Up to 5 budgets, up to 250 entries, single device. Pricing
Two aggregators rather than one, so a bank that fails on Plaid can often still connect via MX — materially higher connection success. And a genuinely deep method with a large, well-taught community behind it.
Zero-based — “give every dollar a job”. No free tier. Pricing
A real free tier plus web access and household sharing — two people on separate phones and a browser all see the same envelope balances. A device-local app cannot do that.
Envelope budgeting. Free tier: 10 regular + 10 more envelopes, 1 account, 2 devices, 1 year of history. Usable indefinitely. Pricing
The free tier is a complete zero-based budget with unlimited categories and live human support, tied to a widely-taught curriculum. If you want coaching alongside the tool, Alfie does not offer that.
Zero-based — “income minus expenses equals zero”. Free tier: Manual transaction entry, unlimited budget categories, multi-device access, live support. Indefinite. Pricing
Automatic net-worth aggregation across investments, loans and property. Maintaining that by hand is impractical, and Alfie does not try to.
Flexible budgeting and tracking. No free tier. Pricing
Free, open source, genuinely local-first, and you can self-host sync with optional end-to-end encryption. On privacy grounds this is the most credible alternative on this page — if you are comfortable running a server, it is excellent.
Zero-sum / envelope budgeting. Free tier: Everything. Open source under the MIT licence. Pricing
Four aggregators gives unusually broad institution coverage, and automatic recurring-charge detection surfaces subscriptions you forgot you were paying for.
“In My Pocket” — income minus bills and goals. Free tier: A free version exists; the exact free-vs-Plus split is not published. Pricing
Alfie is a zero-based budget planner. Alfie Basic: free forever with 1 active manual budget. Apple Premium is $3.99/mo, $39.99/yr, or $149.99 once across iPhone, iPad, Mac. Android edition is coming soon. Apple budgets do not sync to Android and Android budgets do not sync to Apple. Apple purchases do not unlock Android. Google Play purchases do not unlock Apple. The Apple edition works offline with budgets on device and in private iCloud. No bank linking, Alfie account, ads, third-party analytics, or generative AI advice.
The coming-soon Android edition supports local-only use and optional Android-only Google Drive app-data sync. Alfie also has no web app, shared household budget, or automatic import — so it will only ever know what you tell it. If any of those matter more to you than removing the third party, one of the apps above is the better choice.